paperwork.

As much paperwork as I thought I had to deal with for college and grad school admissions, it is nothing compared to trying to live in another country. I have a newfound respect for my friends who are international students trying to live in the US. And, I think to myself, this is the best possible situation — Fulbright is already taking care of so much for me, the people I’ve dealt with have all been kind and helpful: my fulbright advisor at Yale, the people at the IIE, the people in India at the USIEF, and all my contacts both here and in India. Yet somehow I am still missing things that I need to get other things that I don’t quite understand yet. Admittedly, I am the kind of person who gets the most pleasure out of instantaneous accomplishment, but I have been learning a lot about patience and enjoyment of each part of the process, however daunting it may seem.

On the upside, though, every day I am talking with different interesting people. I am finding myself in different circles and making connections in communities that are really far outside of the world I know. And I haven’t even left the US yet.

By nature, I’m not someone who will go out of my way to introduce myself to people I don’t know — Astrid Baumgartner brought this up recently in one of her workshops: sometimes we recoil because we think the people we approach won’t like us or want to talk to us. For me, I often fear that I will say things that are culturally inappropriate and perhaps offensive (i.e., I still cannot figure out when I should be calling someone Mr./Mrs/Dr. versus X-Ji) But on the contrary, I’ve found that the Indian people I’ve talked to so far have been incredibly kind and helpful, and respond to my queries with a kind of directness that puts me at ease.

I can’t wait to see what the coming months bring and how the things that I’m now seeing on paper develop into real cities, friendships and journeys.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

