lost in translation

Another amazing interaction with Anita this morning which I couldn’t resist posting. She bought a bunch of vegetables from the market including the mini-eggplants that I love. I was asking her what they were called in Hindi, and then tried to tell her that we called them “eggplant” in english.

  • R: (half in Hindi half in English): It’s called eggplant.
  • A: Ekplan?
  • R: No, no, like eggs*. You know eggs?
  • A: No, I don’t understand.
  • R: Like, you know when you have a bird*?
  • A: No.
  • R: Ok, like a thing that flies*, in the air* (I’m waving my arms wildly). You know, they’re outside? (pointing outside and flapping my arms).
  • A: (looks at the eggplant, and looks at me flapping my arms and pointing outside and is completely confused.)

*I couldn’t think of the words for these things in Hindi at that moment, which was the source of confusion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to lost in translation

  1. Dominic says:

    Isn’t the word Brinjal? But I did the translation!

  2. Dominic says:

    meant to say I did enjoy…the translation!

  3. Pingback: welcome! | reena|in|india

Leave a Reply

